Another Missed Opportunity

Not all of these reminiscences are going to be terribly interesting, but they will be about places where, when I pass by all these years later, I still remember something that happened there.

Where this subterranean dentist’s office is now situated was once another entrance to the apartment building above it. I was walking up Third Avenue to work one morning (this is Third Avenue between 17th and 18th Streets) when a woman who had just emerged from a taxi passed me on her way into the building. She looked like she was just coming home from being out all night. Her clothes were disheveled, as was her hair, and she looked like she had either just woken up or hadn’t gone to bed sleep yet.

She looked at me and smiled. “I must look terrible,” she said.

She didn’t look terrible, just unkempt. I shook my head. “No,” I said.

She continued on her way inside and I continued on my way to work.

OK, like I said, not all of these stories are interesting. But I still remember that every time I pass by this spot.

Leave a Reply

