What Can You Even Say?

I feel as if I could close out the Eating Outside category now. I intended to photograph tables, and possibly people eating at them, in dark, urine-stained corners of subway entrances, or over precipices (such as I did), but here are two people eating at no table at all, on a filthy sidewalk on a sloping street beside a cellar entrance where biker dudes park.

At least I’m getting better at taking photographs of people. I stood for nearly a minute while every schmuck in the vicinity stood in front of the camera talking, or dialing their phone, or just ambling listlessly, before getting this shot.

Last night I noticed that there are almost never any people in my photographs. I know when I’m taking one that I wait for people to move out of the shot before taking it, but it’s really stark when viewed all together. Here I am in the largest city in the country and there are almost never any people in my photographs.

That’s got to be some kind of accomplishment, I’d say!

Leave a Reply

