Ugly Building

I remember when construction started on this building (I’m sure I don’t have to point out which building I’m referring to — I’m not that old). At that time (some time in 2008, when I was working on West 27th Street, doing The Park Walk), there were a number of construction site crimes occurring. They were referred to in the papers as “accidents” but they were all the result of developers and contractors increasing their profits by cutting back on safety at construction sites, resulting in construction worker deaths, so they were really unprosecuted crimes.

Anyway, there was an elevator erected on the side of this building as it was going up, the sort of elevator that collapsed on another site. I was walking by with Owen one day, telling him about the crimes committed on other sites, and that I would never walk near this one in case the elevator here collapsed, and he was afraid to walk even a block away. I told him even if it collapsed it wouldn’t reach us, because it would fall more downward than forward, but seven-year-olds don’t understand that. It was the only time we walked past it together, so it was not a recurring fear.

At the time it was going up, I didn’t know it would be so ugly. Once it was finished though, it was obvious. Even the building itself looks unstable. I still have the feeling that it will fall. Not such a strong feeling, I guess, since I do walk across the street from it without keeping my eye on it the whole time.

2 Responses to “Ugly Building”

  1. While I agree that the building as a stand-alone is ugly, I actually like the way it sits between the clock tower (Metlife bldg?) and the flatiron. Nice photo!

  2. Thanks. It does look good with the other two buildings on either side, and Madison Square Park in front of it!

Leave a Reply

