The Stoa of 30th Street

You probably can’t tell from the photo, but this replica of the Stoa of the Athenians is not directly under the building behind it. Above the columns is a plywood wall. Directly on the other side of this wall is a sidewalk, then the street, then another sidewalk, then the building, which is the Eventi Hotel, which I mentioned here once before.

This hole in the ground at Sixth Avenue and 30th Street has become my favorite thing to shoot in the area where I work these days. It’s like the East River Esplanade Park entrance at 37th Street was when I worked on 45th Street.

Well, not quite. Nothing will ever replace as an object of fascination the East River Esplanade Park entrance at 37th Street. I was thinking earlier tonight that I could easily have dedicated an entire blog to the East River Esplanade Park entrance at 37th Street.

One more thing I’ll never do in my life.

Leave a Reply

