Dude, Where’s My Tree?

I don’t know when exactly, but I know this tree was cut down recently. I know this for two reasons: 1) there is still sawdust on the ground surrounding it, and; 2) this stump would not have seemed new to me if it wasn’t new. I might not remember anything about the tree that was there (and in fact I don’t) but I know it wasn’t a stump.

Owen and I sometimes walk home this way from his karate class, across Second Street that is. The other times we walk across Third Street. It all depends on the Walk light as we’re going up First Avenue. If the Walk light is on northwards when we get to Second Street, we continue northwards. If it’s on eastwards at Second Street, we walk eastwards. It’s like when Marge knew that Homer was at the lighthouse, because the ground sloped in that direction.

So today [Nov. 6] we walked across Second Street and reached this point (just before Avenue C) where I noticed the stump. I was going to take a picture of Owen standing on it, using my phone camera, but the battery was low and the camera doesn’t work when the battery is low. At that time, the guy in the photo was still on the sidewalk, to the left of the stump, standing there like he didn’t know where he was going. I put away my phone and took out my regular camera and during that time he sauntered into the frame, just as always happens when I take a picture. Someone always walks into the frame. Then I have to stand and wait for them to amble back out, which usually takes a few minutes. This time I didn’t want to wait.

But it works, having him there. I wouldn’t have my title without him.

You know, it just occurred to me: this guy might have been looking for his car!

Leave a Reply

