The Green Clock

The green clock is no more. It is kaput. This is the story of the green clock.

I bought this clock in a store near Omonia Square, in Athens, Greece. I don’t remember why I bought it, other than that I needed an alarm clock. I don’t remember the specific reason I bought it though, why it was I needed to wake up. I saw a clock I liked in the window of a store, but it was more expensive than I wanted to pay. It was a nice-looking clock, a little bigger than the green clock. It was white with purple trim. I think. I remember it had purple in it. But because it was more than I wanted to pay, I didn’t buy it.

I kept thinking about it though. I needed an alarm clock, and it was only 1,000 drachmas or so more than what I wanted to pay, and a lot of foreign money always seems less than a little domestic money, so I decided I would go back the next day and buy it.

It was gone. Someone else had bought the best alarm clock in the store in the price range I was willing to pay. There was another model just like it, but with red trim. It just wasn’t the same. So I bought the green clock.

You can see that it was a nice-enough clock. And it worked. What more can you hope for?

This clock woke me up numerous times while I lived in Greece. It woke me up when I moved back to New York, before I bought a stereo with an auto-on function. And it woke me up on trips outside the city, e.g., when I had to catch a plane. But time and planned obsolescence are not kind, and eventually it stopped working. I thought I might be able to open it and discover a loose wire, reattach it, and keep it going, but it seems that even back in the early 1990s, clocks were not made with wires. Not German clocks, in any case. Not this one.

There are some things that are not meant for the trash can. My leather jacket, for instance, that I don’t wear any more because it’s so tattered. The best thing to do with these objects is build a large bonfire and burn them — convert them, that is, into heat and light. The clock doesn’t quite rise to that level, though. Besides, it would be converted into heat and light and toxic gas, so… it’s on its way to the landfill.

There ends another piece of my past.

Leave a Reply

